Public Transportation - Rural Mobility and Paratransit/Special Needs Competitive Grants (Consolidated)

WSDOT's Public Transportation Division provides the Rural Mobility Grant Program to support public transportation in rural and small urban areas and the Paratransit/Special Needs Grant Program to sustain and expand services to persons with disabilities, seniors, children and people in rural areas. The table below lists organizations that receive these state-funded grants, selected through a competitive process. Scoring and ranking criteria for the competitive process were established by an advisory committee, priorities of regional planning councils and WSDOT. The scoring involves use of the criteria via both independent evaluation and regional rankings.

A more descriptive and comprehensive list of grants that support rural mobility and paratransit/special needs includes the grants listed below, rural and paratransit/special needs formula grants and federally-funded grants. 

2019-2021 Rural Mobility and Paratransit/Special Needs Competitive Grants

Organization County or Counties Award
Arc of Tri Cities Benton, Franklin $146,887
Around the Sound Pierce $994,660
Central Transit Kittitas $422,432
Clallam Transit Clallam, Jefferson, Kitsap  $2,378,025
Coastal Community Action Program Grays Harbor, Pacific $529,896
Columbia County Public Transportation Columbia, Walla Walla $669,190
Columbia County Public Transportation Columbia, Walla Walla $93,215
Community Action of Skagit County Skagit $49,870
Council on Aging and Human Services/ COAST Transportation Asotin, Garfield, Whitman $555,440
Cowlitz Indian Tribe Cowlitz, Lewis $447,619
ECHHO - Ecumenical Christian Helping Hands Organization Jefferson $27,500
Entiat Valley Community Services Chelan, Douglas $10,000
Entrust Community Services Yakima $97,882
Garfield County Public Transportation Garfield, Asotin $379,499
Grant Transit Authority Grant $219,375
Homage Senior Services Snohomish $844,335
HopeSource Kittitas $1,228,949
Human Services Council Clark $786,316
Island Transit Island, Skagit, Snohomish $1,673,140
Jamestown S'Klallam Clallam, Jefferson $161,028
Klickitat County Senior Services Klickitat $1,159,200
Lewis Mt. Hwy Transit Lewis $651,350
Lower Columbia Community Action Program Clark, Cowlitz $730,385
Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe Clallam $34,970
Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation Whatcom $589,050
Makah Tribal Council Clallam $347,093
Mount Si Senior Center King $1,029,000
Okanogan County Transportation and Nutrition Okanogan, Douglas $1,808,218
Olympic Community Action Program Clallam, Jefferson $128,475
Pacific Transit Pacific, Grays Harbor, Clatsop County, OR $1,123,830
People for People Adams, Benton, Franklin, Grant, Lincoln, Yakima $2,539,841
Puget Sound Educational Services District Pierce, King $700,000
Rural Resources Community Action Stevens, Pend Oreille, Ferry $3,239,841
Sammish Indian Nation Skagit, Island $15,193
San Juan County San Juan $332,066
Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe Skagit, Snohomish $402,137
Skamania County Senior Services Clark, Hood River, Klickitat, Multnomah, Skamania $560,318
Sound Generations King $769,658
Special Mobility Services Adams, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane $1,183,150
Spokane Tribe of Indians Spokane, Stevens $865,086
Squaxin Island Tribe Mason, Grays Harbor, Thurston $199,500
Stanwood Community and Senior Center Snohomish, Island, Skagit $50,000
Thurston Regional Planning Council Grays Harbor, Lewis, Thurston $1,268,400
Wahkiakum County Health and Human Resources Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Pacific $595,800
Yakima Valley Conference of Governments Yakima $50,000

For more information, contact Jillian Nordstrom, or 360-705-7911 or your local WSDOT Public Transportation Community Liaison.